Pro-Choice Profile of the Week: Yijin Yang

Standard

Untitled

Yijin Yang

NHS ’17

Fun Fact: Oprah was my favorite show in 5th grade.

Do you identify as pro-choice? If so, why?

Yes, I do identify as pro-choice because I believe that I should be the one making the decisions about what happens to my body. Ownership over your own reproductive health is a right that every woman deserves. I do not believe that governments or other individuals should have a say in the choices I make regarding my body and health.

What does feminism mean to you?

Feminism means equality. For me, it doesn’t mean that women are better than men; it simply means that women and men are equal.

Who in the media inspires you?

Recently, Emma Watson gave a magnificent speech at the UN conference, so she is definitely an inspiration for me. And, she really takes the role of being a public figure seriously.*

If you could be any form of contraception, what would you be?

I would be an IUD because I’m reliable and loyal (for up to twelve years).

Leave a Reply

